The Inactive checkbox on database and box office screens can be used to inactivate a patron record. When selected and the update button clicked, the record will change to an inactive stage with all fields visible but un-editable. If at a later date you wish to reactivate the patron record, you can do so by unchecking the box and clicking update button again.
Inactive option will affect the following abilities:
- The patron record cannot be edited on box office or database screens
- No transactions can be conducted under the patron record (box office or public sides of the system)
- Existing orders can be viewed and items released from the order details screen, but no exchanges can be conducted under the patron record.
- The patron cannot login online (a message will appear letting them know their record is inactive and they can call the box office)
- The patron will not be included in any marketing output (including as part of a household record)
NOTE that if the patron's name remains in either the formal or informal household name fields they will be included in output that includes these fields. We recommend when a patron is inactivated you consider removing them from a household link, and remove their name from these subjective fields.
- The patron will be included in all batch outputs except membership output. Donation and data export outputs will include a column to show the user if any records are inactive.
- When searching for a patron, the list will include inactive records, but the patron name will appear in grey instead of the standard color. There is also a hide option to hide inactive patrons from view when conducting searches.
- Reports where patron contact details are included in export will also include a column showing they are inactive.
Keywords: Deceased, dead, inactive, inactivate, database